Napoleon Series Archive 2016

Re: Militia Officers
In Response To: Re: Militia Officers ()

The Irish militia, as I recall (it's been about ten years since I studied it in any detail), wasn't really sent to Britain, not even after the union. I think there were proposals to do it, based on the idea that getting the Irish militia further away from sources of local sedition would be a good thing, as well as getting them trained by British officers on British soil. I don't think it actually happened though. The British militia did go over in 1798 but I *think* (I may be wrong) Ireland was mainly garrisoned by soldiers. This of course was another argument for establishing an interchangeable militia system between the two islands, as it would have freed up more regular forces, but no go.